These lasts break my heart

Written by:

At some point over the girls’ Christmas break I had a startling revelation. Next year, Pammy will be coming home from college for Christmas break. She will come home earlier in the month but I will have not seen her daily for how many days? What will she have experienced that I will know nothing about?  This was our last Christmas break. 

Have you ever read this heart breaking poem “Let Me Hold You Longer” by Karen Kingsbury? I remembered it as soon as I thought of our last “official childhood Christmas break” and this overwhelming sadness took over me.  Have I made this time special enough?  Is she ready for life? How do I gracefully step back? (Right now I just be so supportive and then cry while she sleeps). 

I can already picture her coming home from college, a different, more grown version of herself. I am excited and terrified and I have on my brave face, because this is normal.  This is right. Nothing prepares you for how hard this will be. 

Time waits for no one. It just went so damn fast.

-Nicole Smith, Momoetry

4 responses to “These lasts break my heart”

  1. passionfortruths Avatar
    passionfortruths

    I believe we learn something at every stage of our life… it’s been said by many, Earth is School for souls. And when souls master the many lessons in life, they ‘graduate’ too… 😇

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Eugenia Avatar
    Eugenia

    Hi Nicole, your link in Mr. Linky isn’t working correctly. Can you send a new link or leave one in my comments. Thank you for joining in and Happy New Year!💖

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bridgette Avatar
    Bridgette

    I’m right there with you. We do a handprint on a big birthday banner for my kids and we did the last one when my son turned 18 last week. It’s been a bit too big to even write about. Instead, I keep journaling about how much I like him and it’s helping.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nicole Smith Avatar
      Nicole Smith

      You raised a good human.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started