I did that

Written by:

I don’t blame you for the things I never had

I get frustrated you don’t always appreciate 

The life necessities I was forced to relish

Which I know is wrong, it confuses me

I get upset, not at you,

Not at the things I give freely;

Love, stability, safety, empowerment

For being things I had to learn to create on my own,

I am upset no one thought to offer me these things

I am JUST NOW learning I deserved them all along

They aren’t gifts, they are tools to prepare a child

For a life that is fulfilled, happy, and stable

Not everyone one is launched into adulthood

Having to build everything from the ground up. 

I get frustrated that I was offered scraps,

And to rejoice in the benevolence of my parents

And that concept lodged in my brain.

I learned to be thankful for the bare minimum. 

I am thankful you will never feel

That you have been treated so poorly that

Basic humanity should feel to you like a gift. 

You will never doubt that you are worthy of love.

I healed myself to be able to give you more than I was given,

I did that.

-Nicole Smith, Momoetry

5 responses to “I did that”

  1. Bridgette Avatar
    Bridgette

    What an incredible gift you gave your children and ultimately yourself. I’m sorry you didn’t get the best launch, we share that history, but you have soared far beyond what your parents could have hoped for. You are an inspiration.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Nicole Smith Avatar
      Nicole Smith

      You have to say it to yourself too. You are an inspiration. Love youuuuu.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Bridgette Avatar
        Bridgette

        Awww! Love you too 🥰

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Leigh Anne Avatar
    Leigh Anne

    I am literally tearing up reading this! There is an unspoken, unacknowledged resentment at times when I see others express their needs, advocate for themselves, prioritize themselves. Not because I blame them, but because I’m sad for my little girl who couldn’t. This was so spot on and I resonated so much with it!!! Thank you for this gift this morning!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nicole Smith Avatar
      Nicole Smith

      Sometimes our inner child resonates with others

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Previous:
Next:
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started