Life is exploding

Written by:

Bombs keep dropping

explosions everywhere 

I want to hide 

I want to hunker down 

I want to wait for things to calm 

for this to pass 

to go back to an earlier version of normal 

life as I’ve known it blown to pieces 

the blast radius moving further and further out 

affecting so many 

Carnage, loss, grief

so much damage! 

what can I do? 

how can I help? 

others are marooned, defenseless, vulnerable 

I feebly offer words so they know 

they aren’t abandoned 

I brace myself 

Waiting for the next bomb to drop

-Nicole Smith, Momoetry

7 responses to “Life is exploding”

  1. maia Avatar
    maia

    take care sweet Nicole 🤍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Liz Avatar
    Liz

    Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ben Alexander Avatar
    ben Alexander

    Thinking of you and feeling that this is incredibly relatable.

    ~David

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sadje Avatar
    Sadje

    Such a touching poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Amethyst Lamb Avatar
    The Amethyst Lamb

    A beautiful personal metaphor as well as a poignant reminder of current world affairs. ❤️ *hugs*

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Lincol Martín Avatar
    Lincol Martín

    In life, the bombs that hit the hardest are those of indifference and inequality, where social injustice explodes every second regardless of who is in front.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Belladonna Avatar
    Belladonna

    Don’t even try to hide, the bombs will find you! LOL

    Like

Leave a comment

Latest Articles

Previous:
Next:
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started