Internal Change

Written by:

I spent much of my life hating myself. I believed I was unlovable, worthless, a burden, and a mistake. I believed my weight determined my worth. The more I weighed, the more worthless I became in my mind. I was suspicious of people who loved me because, really, how could they? They loved me even though I am fat, maybe out of pity or they were family so they just had to. I lived much of my life trying not to be noticed, blending in, drawing no attention to myself and living in constant fear of being ridiculed or being dismissed because of my size. 

I believed in what society and life taught me-if I were simply smaller my life would be amazing. If I lost weight, I would deserve love. I believed my defining characteristic wasn’t my creativity, kindness, or sense of humor, I thought it was that I am fat. I yo-yo dieted. I cried trying things on. I starved myself and binge ate. I looked in the mirror with absolute hate until I stopped looking in mirrors completely. I spent years faking confidence I didn’t feel in front of my kids because I never wanted them to feel the way I did about their own bodies.  The entire time I hated myself and believed I was weak for not being able to just make myself less.

I could make a long list of all the ways I have been humiliated, treated differently, and not understood or accepted because of my size. Even medically, I am treated differently. Something had to change. 

The change started within me. I began seeing a therapist for my depression and anxiety almost 3 years ago. I unpacked some traumas, worked on healing, identifying triggers and being blatantly honest about the myriad of issues I have around my body, food, and my self worth. These discussions aren’t easy and they are continuous. I am working very hard to speak to myself kindly. I spent time on learning to love myself as is. We even talk about my relationship with food and disordered eating. It’s work. I am a work in progress and I am worth the effort. 

When Lizzo came out she represented so much to me. She is unapologetically fat. She is talented, hilarious, beautiful, and she doesn’t hide or make excuses for her body.  I changed my social media feeds to show more bodies like mine. I started meditating and doing yoga. I started accepting myself as I am.  I read books on living a fat life, books containing plus-sized main characters,  and listening to the Maintenance Phase podcast. Representation matters to me. I joined spaces for fat bodies on Facebook. I saw different versions of myself reflected in words, worries, insecurity, and self-hate. I would reassure others and treat them with kindness, and finally realized I needed to do the same to myself. 

I decided I wanted to be healthier, but was that hypocritical to my new found self-acceptance? I spent my therapy hours unraveling body issues, self-acceptance, and the need to treat myself better. Also, I knew counting calories, saying no to certain foods, and labeling food (or myself) as bad for what I ate. I knew I had to break the shame cycle I loop myself into regarding food. I needed to lose my all or nothing mentality with a lifestyle change because it was not sustainable to me. 

My therapist helped re-frame my way of thinking; if I am going all-in on treating myself with love and kindness, that involves what and how I eat. If I am treating myself well, most of the time my eating will reflect that. Also something Amy says is “Do less harm.” I love that. I am eating healthier overall. I am eating regular meals with some healthier choices and incorporating fruit and veggies. I am picking snacks that have more nutrients for my body. I might lose weight doing this, but I am not intentionally trying to lose weight. I am trying to treat myself better.

I’ve been working on all of this for a long time and I am really happy with how far I have come. I am proud of myself for letting go of many patterns of negative thinking. I have worked to change my mindset and my inner dialogue. I have learned to not just accept myself, but to love myself as I am.

-Nicole Smith, Momoetry

Weekly Prompt Wednesday Challenge -Change

Thanks to Amy for helping me and always being a safe place.

Amy also takes amazing pictures.

7 responses to “Internal Change”

  1. ✿ Lovely Panda Mom ✿ Avatar
    ✿ Lovely Panda Mom ✿

    It takes courage to share so openly about our own struggles, and you’ve written so honestly on this blog post ❤️ To be honest I never realized that representation could mean so much to someone, mainly because I don’t take in a lot of media, so that’s something you’ve taught me today. I love how the change you made was something profound and self-loving. Continue to be kind to yourself. You’re worth it 😊 And your smile is so pretty! You actually look really confident in that photo 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nicole Smith Avatar
      Nicole Smith

      Thank you for taking the time to read all that. It felt uncomfortable writing all of that but also freeing.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Adhiiee Avatar
    Adhiiee

    This is an awakening for all the individuals who are struggling out there as victims of body-shaming. I appreciate the way you hold yourself against these double standards of society, Nicole! Lots of love! ❤❤❤

    Like

    1. Nicole Smith Avatar
      Nicole Smith

      Thank you for your words. I am working hard at adjusting my line of thinking and meshing being healthier with loving myself.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Bridgette Avatar
    Bridgette

    Lizzo changed things for me too—seeing someone so fully themselves who also promotes healthy eating and moving our bodies. She’s such an inspiration! I love how far you’ve come on your journey and can relate to all it. I’m working on the same things over here 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nicole Smith Avatar
      Nicole Smith

      I am proud of you. It isn’t easy to undo decades of what society taught us.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Bridgette Avatar
        Bridgette

        I’m always a work in progress. My daughter has really taught me a lot about radical self love.

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started